UI-UX Designer Intern

Sumran Talreja
3 min readMay 1, 2023

--

As an UI UX Designer intern at TechDock Labs, I had the opportunity to work on a web application called SGT for several months. The application was designed for guards to help them manage their shifts and tasks effectively, while also allowing property owners to keep track of the guards and their work from anywhere. During my time at TechDock Labs, I had the chance to design all three ends of the application, including the property owner, guard, and super admin end.

My experience at TechDock Labs was incredibly rewarding. I had the opportunity to work on a project that had real-world implications, and I was able to apply my design skills to make a difference. The SGT application was designed to help guards manage their shifts and tasks effectively, which is essential for the safety and security of properties. By designing the application, I was able to contribute to the development of a tool that could make a significant difference in the lives of guards and property owners.

Working on the SGT application was challenging, but it was also a great learning experience. I had to design the application in a way that was user-friendly and intuitive, which required me to do extensive research and testing. I also had to consider the needs and perspectives of different stakeholders, including the guards, property owners, and super admins. Through this process, I learned how to create designs that were not only aesthetically pleasing but also functional and practical.

In addition to working on the SGT application, I also had the opportunity to design several other projects during my time at Techdock Labs. One of these projects was the Money Tree application, which was a digital stock market application designed to help people manage their investments. Another project was a wedding planning e-cards application, which was designed to help couples plan their weddings and invite their guests in a unique and creative way.

I learned how to conduct user research to better understand the needs and preferences of the end-users of the application i were designing. This involved conducting surveys, interviews, and focus groups with users to gather valuable feedback. Ialso learned how to create wireframes, prototypes, and high-fidelity designs using industry-standard tools like Sketch, Adobe XD, and Figma. I gained experience in designing for multiple devices and platforms, including desktop, tablet, and mobile. I also learned about user testing and how to use it to improve designs. Additionally, I were exposed to the software development process and learned about agile methodology and the importance of collaboration with developers. My internship at TechDock Labs provided I with a valuable learning experience that will help I grow in my career as a UI/UX designer.

Overall, my experience at TechDock Labs was incredibly fulfilling. I had the opportunity to work on meaningful projects, develop my skills as a designer, and learn from experienced professionals in the tech industry. I am grateful for the opportunity and would highly recommend TechDock Labs to anyone looking for an internship in UI UX design.

--

--